Sunday, November 06, 2005

The midway point

Now that I have officially crossed the halfway point of my stay here, I would like to recap what I've learned. Also, I will give some advice to anyone considering a trip abroad--advice you won't find in any travel guide.

The food isn't great, but it isn't the worst you've ever had. I mean, when you buy an 18 pence can of soup, you get what's coming to you. Stay away from hot dogs, realize that the ketchup might taste a little different, and avoid fast food falafel at all costs. But embrace the strange flavours of potato chips. Try the local favourite items.

The beer is universally better than American beers (the ones they have on tap at bars and restaurants at least), and is reasonably priced. Until you start thinking about the exchange rate. That's another lesson--don't think about the exchange rate. You know it sucks, it won't do you any good to try to convert everything you buy into dollars. It just isn't smart.

The United States has yet to discover alcoholic cider, and it's a huge loss. Cider is cheaper, tastes delightful, and usually has enough alcoholic content to do the job. And cider/beer hybrids are amazing. If there is one thing the U.K. is still better at than the U.S., it's cider.

If there are two things, the second is public transportation. There are a dozen or so subway lines throughout London, and there are intersections all over the place. You can basically get anywhere you want with a minimum amount of walking through the tube. There are also tons of buses. Buses and taxis make up the majority of the road traffic. And it's a good thing too, because the roads here are terrible. Street names change, disappear or aren't posted. Traffic is logjammed basically all day. It might take you 2 hours to drive 40 miles. It's a mess.

British TV sucks.

It's really annoying to be unable to have one stream of warm water coming out of your faucet.

I've realized that there may not be anything worse than not being able to eat good Mexican food for four months. Load up on it before you come. It's 2 a.m. and you want a chalupa? Nah-uh, it ain't happening.

Most places close early, but you can get around it. There's usually somewhere that's open. You remember those places. If you're lost, confused, need directions or an opinion, you're going to have to approach someone. Brits avoid interaction at all costs.

After high school, I wanted to go to a big city to experience diversity. Minneapolis is ok at times, but London is as good as it gets. It is estimated that by 2010 London will become the first city in the world to have over half its population made up by ethnicities different from the city's native one. I don't really know how to put that in print, but it really is quite amazing.

This post was initially much longer, but for some reason my posts are getting deleted as I try to publish them. Therefore, this is the third time I've regurgitated this one, and I've forgotten much of what I wanted to say. Oh well.

1 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

the diversity sounds great, and the public transportation too. I am surprised that placess close so early at night--I thought Europe was a Late-night person's paradise? Maybe that's the rest of Europe?
Do Brits live up to the stereotypes? rather cold, formal reserved, etc? How about other stereotypes like for Italians?

5:05 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home